Unitary Patent

Financial risk “Unitary Patent System”
This concerns your granted European patents as well as your European patent applications.

 

Comprehensive support in the field of Intellectual Property also requires extensive counseling with regard to the subject “Unitary Patent System in Europe”.

Dealing with this subject is unexpendable even now – i. e. already before the start of the new system. This applies both to persons who have not yet applied for a patent and are thinking about an application and to persons who already find themselves in a patent application procedure and to persons who already own a European bundle patent.

With the imminent introduction of the so-called “Unitary Patent System”, the patent system in Europe is entering an extensive development process. Two components are of importance for the further development: the Unitary Patent (UP) and the Unified Patent Court (UPC).

A unitary patent provides uniform protection and has the same effect in all participating member states. It can be restricted, transferred or revoked or can expire only for all participating member states.

Regarding the Unified Patent Court, please note that its competence will also extend to European bundle patents granted before the start of the “Unitary Patent System” and claiming effect in the participating member states.

 
Preparation phase At the moment the new system is in the preparation phase, which is envisaged to take until the end of 2022. This means, among others, that the Unified Patent Court will be equipped with such technical resources and staff that it will be ready to work when the new system starts.
We would like to make use of this phase for analyzing your patent portfolio, together with you, with regard to the new system and to discuss a possible need to act.
Transition phase (Sunrise period) The preparation phase will be followed by a 3-month transition phase. Depending on the result of your portfolio analysis, a course should be set already in this transition phase whether to “take part in” or to “opt out of” the new system. If you take no precautions, the Unified Patent Court will be automatically competent for certain legal issues like infringement and invalidity actions concerning your already granted European bundle patents which claim effect in the participating member states.
Start  

 

The new system is based on a variety of legal foundations, thus inducing complex questions concerning existing European bundle patents as well as unitary patents that will be granted in the future. It will provide a wide range of strategic options for securing tailor-made protection for your inventions.

In our law firm we have assembled an expert team from the patent and legal departments, who have spent the past months intensively occupying themselves with this complex subject and the issues involved. This expert team is prepared to provide you with comprehensive advice regarding the Unitary Patent System in Europe.

You may now make use of this opportunity in order to be prepared for the start of the new system.

 

Just get in contact

 

For advice, just contact us and make an appointment.

 

or

+49 7551 / 301 999-10

Einheitspatent

Kostenrisiko „Einheitliches Patentsystem“
Ihre erteilten und angemeldeten europäischen Patente sind betroffen.

 

Eine ganzheitliche Betreuung auf dem Gebiet des gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes erfordert auch eine umfassende Beratung zu dem Thema „Einheitliches Patentsystem in Europa“.

Die Auseinandersetzung mit diesem Thema ist bereits jetzt – also schon vor dem Start des neuen Systems – unentbehrlich. Dies gilt gleichermaßen für Personen, die noch kein Patent angemeldet haben und nun über eine Anmeldung nachdenken, für Personen, die sich bereits im Patentanmeldeverfahren befinden, und für Personen, die bereits Inhaber eines europäischen Bündelrechts sind.

Das Patentsystem in Europa wird sich mit der bevorstehenden Einführung des sogenannten „Einheitlichen Patentsystems“ umfassend fortentwickeln. Zwei Bausteine sind für die Fortentwicklung von Bedeutung: das Einheitspatent (UP) und das Einheitliche Patentgericht (UPC).

Ein Einheitspatent bietet einheitlichen Schutz und hat gleiche Wirkung in allen teilnehmenden Mitgliedstaaten. Es kann nur hinsichtlich aller teilnehmenden Mitgliedstaaten beschränkt, übertragen oder für nichtig erklärt werden oder erlöschen.

Mit Blick auf das Einheitliche Patentgericht gilt es zu beachten, dass sich dessen Zuständigkeit auch auf bereits vor dem Start des „Einheitlichen Patentsystems“ erteilte europäische Bündelpatente erstreckt, welche Wirkung in den teilnehmenden Mitgliedstaaten beanspruchen.

 
Vorbereitungs- phase Derzeit befindet sich das neue System in der Vorbereitungsphase, die voraussichtlich noch bis Ende 2022 andauern wird. Das bedeutet unter anderem, dass das Einheitliche Patentgericht technisch und personell ausgestattet wird, um beim Start des neuen Systems arbeitsfähig zu sein.
Diese Phase möchten wir nutzen, um Ihr Patentportfolio mit Ihnen gemeinsam im Hinblick auf das neue System zu analysieren und etwaigen Handlungsbedarf zu erörtern.
Übergangs- phase (Sunrise period) An die Vorbereitungsphase schließt sich eine 3-monatige Übergangsphase an. Je nach Ergebnis der Portfolioanalyse sollten bereits in dieser Übergangsphase die Weichen für eine „Teilnahme" oder einen „Ausstieg" (Opt Out) aus dem neuen System gestellt werden. Wenn Sie keine Vorkehrungen treffen, wird das Einheitliche Patentgericht automatisch für bestimmte Rechtsstreitigkeiten wie Verletzungs und Nichtigkeitsklagen bzgl. Ihrer bereits erteilten europäischen Bündelpatente zuständig, welche Wirkung in den teilnehmenden Mitgliedstaaten beanspruchen.
Start  

 

Das neue System stützt sich auf verschiedene Rechtsgrundlagen und wirft damit komplexe Fragen auf, die sowohl bestehende europäische Bündelrechte als auch zukünftige erteilte Einheitspatente betreffen. Es bietet vielfältige strategische Möglichkeiten, um einen maßgeschneiderten Schutz Ihrer Erfindungen zu sichern.

Wir haben in unserer Kanzlei ein Expertenteam aus dem Patent- und Rechtsbereich zusammengestellt, welches sich in den vergangenen Monaten intensiv mit diesem komplexen Thema und den dadurch aufgeworfenen Fragen beschäftigt hat. Dieses Expertenteam berät Sie gerne eingehend zum Einheitlichen Patentsystem in Europa.

Nutzen Sie bereits jetzt die Gelegenheit, um auf den Start des neuen Systems vorbereitet zu sein.

 

Einfach Kontakt aufnehmen

 

Für eine Beratung nehmen Sie einfach Kontakt mit uns auf und vereinbaren Sie einen Termin.

 

oder

+49 7551 / 301 999-10